When you are charged with your first DUI, you need to grasp the mandatory sentence and punishments involved, and the long-term consequences of a DUI conviction. Do not underestimate the serious consequences of your first DUI conviction or arrest.
One of the penalties for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a driver’s license suspension. The state of Illinois reserves the right to suspend your vehicle registration or your license for a period of time due to a DUI conviction, or revoke your driving privileges entirely. In the state of Illinois, there is a graduated scale for how long you will be without your license depending on whether you have any previous DUI convictions and the factors surrounding your DUI.
So do you lose your license for your first DUI in Illinois? For your first DUI, you face minimum revocation of driving privileges for 1 year. If you are under the age of 21, this revocation can increase to 2 years. You also face suspended vehicle registration.
If you have been convicted of multiple DUIs, you may lose your right to drive forever.
Typically, a person’s first DUI charge is considered a Class A Misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail and a $2,500 fine. If the driver was transporting a child under 16 at the time they were arrested, an additional fine of $1,000 will be applied, as well as doing 25 days of community service in a program that helps children. Additional penalties can include license suspension, community service, and a possibility of probation. Other factors can change the level of your charge resulting in more severe penalties or sentences. Such as, if you have an open alcoholic container in your vehicle at the time you are arrested, your mandatory jail sentence or fine could be increased.
These penalties could severely affect your ability to go to work or school, get a job or apartment, and more. That’s why it’s crucial to obtain the help of an experienced DUI lawyer.
Penalties for DUI in Chicago depend on 4 different circumstances:
1) The driver’s age
2) The driver’s level of impairment
3) If the driver has previous DUI convictions
4) If the driver was transporting a child under 16 years of age at the time of arrest