Drinking and Driving Laws in Illinois
The State of Illinois drunk driving laws start with the .08 percentage blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit. Like all states across the U.S.A., Illinois prohibits driving with a .08 percent BAC or above. If you are under 21 years of age in the state of Illinois there is a “Zero” tolerance for alcohol and driving. The only exceptions are for individuals who consume alcohol as part of a religious ceremony or in prescribed medicine containing alcohol. Even with those exceptions, driving with a BAC of .08 is the limit.
How many drinks does it take to reach the legal limit in Illinois?
There isn’t one calculation that works for all drivers. Variables to be taken into account are: body fat percentage, weight, genetics, age and number of drinks consumed over a given time frame. Studies have show that some individuals could have as much as a .05 percentage increase in their BAC for each drink consumed. Given that number, it could take very few drinks to become legally impaired in the state of Illinois.
The best answer is not to drink and drive
Illinois has strict laws for drunk driving, and when you drink and drive in Illinois, you risk your freedom, finances and your future.
If you are convicted of a DUI in the State of Illinois, the first offense will result in a minimum 1 year suspension of your drivers license. In addition, you may be imprisoned for up to one year and fined up to $2,500. If the driver was transporting a person under the age of 16 at the time of the violation, is subject to an additional mandatory minimum fine of $1,000, and 25 days of community service.
For your second drunk driving conviction in Illinois, you will receive a Minimum 5 year suspension of your drivers license. You will also receive a mandatory 5 days in jail or 240 days of community service. You may receive up to 1 year in jail for your second drunk driving conviction in Illinois and a maximum fine of $2,500. If, at the time of the second violation the individual was transporting a person under the age of 16, the driver is subject to up to 1-3 years of imprisonment, an additional fine up to $25,000.
If you receive a third drunk driving conviction in Chicago, you will receive a minimum 10 year loss of your driving privileges. You may be imprisoned for up to 7 years and you will also receive a maximum fine of $2,500. If, at the time of the third violation, the person was transporting a person under the age of 16, the driver is guilty of a Class 4 felony and shall receive, in addition to any other penalty imposed, an additional mandatory fine of $25,000, an additional mandatory 25 days of community service and up to 1 to 3 years imprisonment.
Need a Chicago DUI lawyer?
Law enforcement agencies throughout the United States have developed a no-tolerance policy toward the connection between drinking and driving. From state to state, penalties have become harsher and blood alcohol content minimums required for arrests have lowered considerably.
Looking for a good lawyer who can help you figure out the laws regarding DUIs? We understand it can be tricky to navigate the legal system. Contact us today.